Tuesday, 29 January 2013

Hitman HD Trilogy Review

Hitman Absoultion was the very first time I played a Hitman game and it amazed me. Amazed me so much that I bought the HD trilogy within minutes after finishing Hitman Absoultion because I wanted more Hitman and also a chance to play these games in HD. As I am writing this part of the review I am also looking at the case and can just see content dripping from it. It looks stacked with 3 full games (In HD!) at a very, very reasonable price. If you don't know already in this package you will be getting Hitman 2, Contracts and Blood Money. So lets see if it is worth buying the Hitman trilogy.

The major difference I saw in these games compared to Hitman Absolution is that the games are not supposed to be played like a 3rd person shooter. This isn't a knock at Hitman Absoltuion but in that game if you were caught and crowded by enemies you could get rid of them in a 3rd person style shootout. If you mess up in the trilogy games don't expect to shoot your way through everyone and that's it. Plan your attack before you start, look for different ways of possibly killing the target and finally take your time going through these levels. Use the trial and error technique to get through the level. So if one technique doesn't work and gets you killed find optional ways to eliminate your target because trust me there are going to be a whole lot of ways of killing your target.

These earlier Hitman games feel quite a bit more open and also feel like there is more freedom while Absolution didn't have as much freedom. Again not a knock at Absolution but just a slight comparison. While it's great that it's open there seems to be some problems with the older games that were polished in Absoultion like the disguise system. The disguise system is kind of similar to Absoltuion but if you have never played any Hitman games before here is a brief description of disguises. While roaming around each level in the games you will come across disguises that 47 can wear and also use to his advantage thus making his job just that little bit more easier but like I said before it comes with problems as disguises are pretty broken. For example you are in disguise and you can randomly start being shot without warning. I will give credit to Blood Money though as that system was much better and didn't get as much problems with the system. Problems like this make the games start to show their true age.

I enjoyed all three games but I was asked "What is your favourite of the 3?" and I thought Blood Money was the best of the 3. Blood Money for me had the best and more creative levels out of the 3 games. One of my favourite missions in Blood Money was called "A New Life" I really liked the whole suburb surroundings in this level it felt different to the normal surroundings we see in Hitman games. Another cool mission that takes place in Blood Money is called "You better watch out" which takes place at a party and also happens to contain one of the funniest kills in the Hitman series when you shoot the Jacuzzi floor (Which is located 70 feet above ground) making it crack/break which causes the target to fall 70 feet to his death. Trust me it is pretty funny. While these two stand out there are also plenty of other amazing levels that you are just going to have to play to find out how awesome they are.

At the start of the review I talked about the game dripping with content and this is no lie. This game is full of content. You get 3 full games which combined has a total of 75 hits and over 40 levels! This trilogy should keep you entertained for multiple hours just for the fact that there is so much to play (At a very reasonable price I might add) What will bring up the hours with these games is the different ways you can complete a level so say if you hated how a level went or you just wanted to kill a target a different way which happened to me quite a bit. Well then that is another reason to play the games even more. There are also new achievements/trophies for each game so if you bought these games in the past you will have a reason to re buy them for the HD visuals and also to get the achievements  to show if you can still be that same killer you once was a few years ago.

The new HD visuals which have been added to game does make the old levels and surroundings a little bit more sharper and better in terms of picture quality but you have to also remember that these games are ageing quite fast and like Hitman 2 for example has showed its age for the worst but again it's an old game and it's to be expected. It's still an improvement from the old quality so that's good.

The Final Verdict

Rewind to October 2012. I have no idea what Hitman was except maybe seeing the old games cover while buying games at best. Never played a single Hitman game and now here we are in January 2013 and I have now played nearly all the Hitman games and Hitman has become one of my top games to play. The fact that the HD trilogy (While it has aged a bit) can still hold up today is outstanding. Some of the levels in these games are not to be missed at all by new fans of Hitman so after reading this review you need to get the trilogy and start enjoying some classic Hitman. It must be said though to new players that the controls and gameplay will feel awkward at first but you will get used to it and should have a great time playing this. Old fans should get this to revisit the classic in HD visuals and see if they can still be that Hitman they once were. I said it a few times and I will say it again the price of this game can't be argued at to say how much you are getting in this package so buy now!

+Very open levels
+Blood Money itself deserves a +
+Some of Hitmans all time great levels are in this game

+/- While the visuals look better than the originals they still are not up to standard

-Controls can be awkward
-Disguises are broken at times

Overall Rating


Saturday, 26 January 2013

Skyrim: Dragonborn Review

More Skyrim? Well that is always a good thing right? Well with Dawnguard we found out that it was a good thing. While having some problems here and there it got a solid 7.5 rating for its sheer amount of content, gameplay additions and a slight branching storyline. I am happy to say that Dragonborn is pretty much the same as Dawnguard but even better! Why is Dragonborn better? Keep reading and find out.

Dragonborn adds many things into the main game of Skyrim and one of the biggest features is a brand new location called Solstheim. This is were pretty much every Dragonborn mission will take place. Solstheim had a pretty large area to roam around and with it comes a whole bunch of new camps, caves and dragon lairs to explore. Not every addition is restricted to the new area and missions there are some things new additions you can use in Skyrim like new shouts, spells and the long awaited dragon riding. Dragon riding is a cool addition but it is on the rails so you are not in control of the dragon. The only thing you can do is command it to land and attack people. While its a little bit of a let down to not have free control of dragons it's still a fun and needed addition to Skyrim.

Dragonborn adds 7 new main quests to the game. The main story of Dragonborn is once you become Dragonborn in the game (Yes, you can play Dragonborn before completing Skyrim's main quest) you will be attacked by cultists who after being defeated will have a note in their possession requesting the death of your character. You also find out that it was a person named Miraak who ordered the killing so your character will find themselves searching for him in Solstheim. The main quests are just a very small part of the overall quests that are added to Skyrim. Along with 7 main quests you will also have over 40! New side quests added that take place not only in Solstheim but some actually take place in Skyrim too. One of these Skyrim missions has you going up against easily the most powerful enemy the game has ever had and he is called "The Ebony Warrior"

The Ebony Warrior side quest can only be started if you are Level 80. You will be challenged by him to a fight to the death at the Last Vigil and he will also have a crazy amount of advantages over your character. He is in a full ebony armor suit which is one of the strongest armor suits in the game, has a 50% Resistance to frost, fire and shock damage, his armor is heavily enchanted and he also knows the disarm and unrelenting force shouts. This takes place on a high mountain and he can shout you off the mountain so be very careful not to get close to the edge. You will need plenty of potions and have a follower who will also attack him to have a better chance against him. Fight smart and you will be able to beat him but if you rush the fight and try to beat him quick then you will be finished in seconds. Once you defeat him you can steal all of his powerful gear.

The Final Verdict

Dragonborn was an awesome add on to Skyrim and should be a 100% purchase for all Skyrim fans. On top of a solid 3/4 hour main quest you are getting tons of interesting side quests that have some big perks like the Ebony Warrior's armor for example. There isn't much to complain about in this DLC expect the dragon riding and the main quest can sometimes become a little repetitive other than that though this is a solid entry to the Skyrim DLC series.

+Lots of stuff to do
+Adds tons of content
+3-4 hour main quest

+/-Dragon riding while a cool addition is limited.
-Main quest can get repetitive at times

Overall rating


Friday, 4 January 2013

Hitman Absolution Review

Yeah, if you have seen my other reviews on the website you will know in a lot of my reviews I start by saying "I never played this series of games before" and it is the same for Hitman. After starting my reviews last year I got to play so many great new series that I had no interest in playing in the past and Hitman is another one of these games. Hitman Absolution was a surprise hit for me in 2012. Just for the fact I knew nothing about the game or the past games and when I started to play it I was like "WHY DIDN'T I PLAY THESE GAMES IN THE PAST!" and now I will tell you why the game is that good.

As soon as the game started it shocked me how great the graphics was. Character models look awesome and the main character (Named "47") had an awesome character design and look. Even the enemies and NPC's looked really good in the game. Along with great looking character models the game boasts some very nice looking surroundings these surroundings aren't boring and repetitive they are different and are done very well in the game. There are also many different places that range from buildings, to a desert, to Chinatown and mines! They all look really awesome and if you hate seeing the same background in games then you will love Hitman's surroundings.

In the game you have the option to either by really sneaky when killing off targets or just run in crazy and shoot everything in site. When being really sneaky at times you will have to look everywhere for the best route because you're not going to be able to just run in one direction and find the target. There are multiple ways to get to the target but it is up to you to find the best way of getting to them.

As the game requires quite a lot of stealth there are many stealth features in Hitman. For example you can hide in different places if you have been seen to get away from enemies who have caught you, you can use your surroundings to get past enemies like turning on a radio or sound a car alarm to distract people and the game also allows you to have disguises that you can either find in the area or that you can steal from enemies you have either knocked out or killed. There are many different disguises you can have in the game and these will help lower your suspicion by enemies but if you get caught in a disguise that disguise will be useless and you will need a new one.

Hitman Absolution has two things you need to be aware of and that is your score in the current level and your notoriety and these two features mix into each other quite a lot of times. Your score in Hitman can be increased and decreased by doing certain things completing a objective will earn you 6500 points but these points can be useless if you have been killing the enemies that aren't targets because that will lose you 500 points each time you kill one. You can earn points by also performing headshots and also "cleaning up the area" after you are finished which means you need to hide all the people you have killed so you can raise your score. Get caught by someone? You would have just lost 1500 points so it pays to be sneaky in Hitman while wild and crazy shooters will be punished with lower scores. This is also how notoriety and the score system will cross paths in the game.

There are many different weapons you can have access to in the game. Some you start of with like some minor guns and a wire to choke enemies so you can take them as quiet as possible. Along with set weapons you can also find weapons lying around in places and these weapons include knifes, bottles, bricks, screwdrivers, books and a toy! Lets just say there are many weapons to use in Hitman so be creative as you want. There is also something really cool when using guns in the game you can do something called "Point-Shooting" were the game freezes and you can target people to shoot and you can shoot as many people as you want as long as their on the screen. I found it fun and addicting to use the Point-Shooting to get some very cool looking headshots.

Hitman doesn't have many downsides at all but there are a few little ones that I need to bring up. First of all the game isn't very long you can get a good 10-13 hours out of the game if you aren't rushing and another 10 hours can be added if you want to find everything in the game like evidence, disguises and also complete challenges that are not finished yet. There are also times when enemy A.I was a little weak and couldn't see me when I was in their clear view. Other than a few other small hiccups here and there the game manages to not be full of disappointments and problems.

The Final Verdict 

Hitman Absolution was a very fun and also an awesome game to play. If you didn't get this in 2012 then you need to go get it right now and play it. This game was that good that I will be purchasing the HD trilogy later this month because I want more Hitman! Hitman Absolution will go down as one of the greats in 2012 video gaming and it deserves every bit of positive feedback it gets.

+Love the stealth gameplay
+You plan how you kill the target
+Fun gameplay
+Amazing graphics

-Bit short
-Clumsy A.I at times

Final Score


Information bout early 2013 reviews on ThisGenGameReviews

UPDATED:  Hitman Absolution Review - Posted 4th of January 2013.

UPDATED: Skyrim: Dragonborn Review - Posted 26th of January 2013.

UPDATED: Hitman HD Trilogy Review - Posted 29th of January 2013

Due to a lack of video games that will be reviewed in January I decided to finish the reviews of two games and DLC content that were half finished before Christmas and publish them during this month so there would be some new content this month. These games will be Hitman Absolution, Far Cry 3 and the DLC will be Skyrim: Dragonborn. The Hitman review will be coming very soon either today (4th of January) or tomorrow, the Far Cry 3 review will be coming next week or possibly even sooner and Dragonborn DLC review will be coming later on in January.

Our first planned 2013 release review will be Hitman HD Trilogy this month followed by Dead Space 3 in February.

Just also want to say thanks to everyone who has visited the site since March of last year. Can't wait to bring you more reviews in 2013.

Tuesday, 1 January 2013

ThisGenGameReviews 2012 Game Of The Year Goes To...


The Walking Dead had tough competition in 2012 with other amazing games like Mass Effect 3. Max Payne 3 and Halo 4 coming very close to the GOTY position. All 5 episodes of TWD range from good to awesome. There isn't one bad episode at all. Everything about this game screams GOTY and if you haven't played this awesome game already then buy it now!! Bring on Season 2! 

Here are the links to every Walking Dead episode review.